Title: Why give an alter noble a great weapon?
Description: It will make the noble strike last.
Lindsay - January 26, 2006 10:08 PM (GMT)
So, why should I give my alter noble a great weapon if it will strike last? Sure if I charge I get +2 strength from the great weapon but I'll strike last even if I charged and that could mean one dead noble.
My alter noble was going to look like this:
Alter Noble, light armour, HoDA, HotH, Shield, Great Weapon
So when I charge I strike last but get +1A, +2S and +1WS on the charge.
Tell me what you think of the alter noble.
~ Lindsay ~
Servant of Isha - January 26, 2006 10:10 PM (GMT)
You don't strike last with great weapons when you charge; when you charge you strike first like any other charger, but you strike last in subsequent rounds. This is different in mordheim (where you strike last with great weapons whatever unless you have a special skill), which is why I can remember it. I'll look for a reference to that rule though....
EDIT: page 89, under strikes last.
Most people pick a greatweapon because they hope that most of the work will be done the turn you charge; if all goes well it should be.
Gelu - January 26, 2006 10:12 PM (GMT)
I thought if you give him the Amber Pendant (opponent strikes last-I think, haven't got army book hndy) you will strike first as you have higher Initiative.
Lindsay - January 26, 2006 10:14 PM (GMT)
Oh right, so I strike first on the charge but in any other round of combat I strike last. Thanks for that, and the reference page too.
This topic can be used to discuss other uses of the alter noble if people like.
~ Lindsay ~
Servant of Isha - January 26, 2006 10:14 PM (GMT)
The amber pendant would indeed mae you strike first in nearly all situations, however that is normaly used on defensive characters. Offensive Alters often take the Hail of Doom arrow, since it's use is not diminished after the alter has gone into combat (and risks dying) due to the fact it can be used once, and they rarely take the amber pendant. It isn't worth the points when you are charging anyway, and may not fight another round of combat to make use of it.
Lindsay - January 26, 2006 10:17 PM (GMT)
One last question. Can you stand and shoot with HoDA when being charged?
~ Lindsay ~
Servant of Isha - January 26, 2006 10:19 PM (GMT)
My gut instinct would say no, but I cannot find any rule against it. It will probably come up in a Q&A eventually (when GW get round to making a proper one).
B-rad*** - January 26, 2006 10:39 PM (GMT)
I think you could stand and shoot with it. The wording in the rules for it seems to be as if you can use it whenever you fire, so i think you could Stand and Shoot.
Glim - January 27, 2006 12:18 AM (GMT)
It only states that it's a magic arrow. So unless anybody knows a rule that says you can not stand-and-shoot with a magic arrow or weapon. You can.
That's my simple thought.
Altithir - January 27, 2006 03:39 AM (GMT)
I think the amber pendant is amazingly useful. It means that opponents strike last, so say if the highborn is in a unit (obviously doesnt apply to alters) than even if that unit charges, the enemies in base contact strike last, meaning other elves in that unit strike first. Excellent against large monsters and things
DeepwoodSniper - January 27, 2006 05:46 AM (GMT)
Too bad an Alter Noble can't use the Amber Pendant and Helm of the Hunt together. It would have been a nice combo. The tactics for my Alter is charging in support of other charging units. With his added arse-kickery, hopefully there won't be anybody left to strike him back in that or the next phase.
Lindsay - January 27, 2006 06:44 AM (GMT)
I thought I'd let you all to know how my alter noble went in a battle that I fought today against lizardmen (1000 point game). The noble I used had every item that I stated in the first post with the exception of HoDA (wanted to see what you guys thought about the stand and shoot rules before I used it).
Either way first turn I moved the alter noble behind a forest. Second turn I moved him on the flank of saurus warriors, ready to charge some flame spitting creature (with skinks guarding it). Third turn my dryads charged the flame spitting creature and my noble tried to as well and had to take a fear test, which he FAILED! In my opponents turn he stood there (had just rallied) and got shot at by skinks but luckily survived, thanks to me casting the regeneration ability on him (from my spellsinger), which saved two wounds (thank god). Fourth turn I flank charged the saurus warriors which were already in combat and the noble managed to kill 3 of them. Then the game ended after a few more rounds of combat, me with the noble still on full wounds and I'd only lost a couple of dryads. The game was a draw.
The noble didn't really achieve what I thought it would (didn't even kill its points cost) but saying that it was the first time me ever using one, so I still have a lot to learn about how to use them.
~ Lindsay ~
Gwion - January 27, 2006 10:05 AM (GMT)
Im not sure at all about this, but I don't think you need to take a rally test if you fail a fear test when you want to charge. It's problably just me who remember things wrong.
Arganos - January 27, 2006 10:39 AM (GMT)
You don't if I'm not mistaken.. You only cannot charge the unit if you fail your test..
Servant of Isha - January 27, 2006 04:52 PM (GMT)
Yes. There are many 'fear' type tests, and it's hard not to confuse them.
If you are charging an enemy and fail the fear test, you cannot charge that turn. That's it, you don't flee.
If you are charging a terror causing unit (assuming you haven't already passed your terror test for the battle, since each unit only tests for each terror causer once and fear test after that), then you will flee if you fail.
If a fear causing unit charges you, and you fail, two things could happen. If they have a higher unit strength, then you run away. If they have a lower unit strength, then you hit on 6's in the following round of combat.
Also, you shouldn't heroes to directly pay back their points cost, they should help the army as a whole acheive this. Often with fighting heroes, that just means adding enough combat resolution to make the enemy flee so that your unit can destroy them. Hopefully your noble will do a bit better next battle anyway.
Lindsay - January 27, 2006 10:23 PM (GMT)
Sorry, what I meant to say was that my alter noble just stood there scared after he failed the fear test.
~ Lindsay ~