Title: Wardancer character
Glim - July 15, 2009 09:57 PM (GMT)
Wardancers get +1S on the charge.
Merciw`s Locus denies Strenght bonusses.
Does the Character loses his +1S when he has Merciw`s Locus and is charging?
In the description it says that it is because of the weapons Wardancers wield they get the +1S, but it does not explicitly say they carry +1S on the charge weapons. You can even get Blades of Loec and still get the bonus.
Zelt Arruin - July 15, 2009 10:03 PM (GMT)
They would not get the +1 S, as that is a strength bonus, the thing that the locus negates. It does not matter what kind of weapon or item it is giving the strength, unless it says that it adds to the models profile, which weapons do not do.
Geep - July 16, 2009 12:57 AM (GMT)
I agree with Zelt Arruin's interpretation.
Overall, I see very littl reason to ever take Merciw's Locus, unless you just have the points to spare and a character it won't hurt.
Hillbilly Carl - July 16, 2009 03:38 AM (GMT)
When the killing blow spear didn't grant the +1 S it was a good combo to give a wild rider noble on a stag or a highborn on a dragon, you got the strength from the stag and the locus protects you a bit. Now that the spear counts as a spear it isn't really that great anymore.
The Lone Warrior - July 16, 2009 08:27 PM (GMT)
I very much agree, I have never seen the point in the Locus and will never use it.
Robbing the enemy of something is all well and gd but I'd never do it to myself as well :blink:
Hillbilly Carl - July 16, 2009 09:15 PM (GMT)
It is only useful if the character you are giving it to doesn't have a strength-boosting weapon.
SeanyPrawny - July 16, 2009 10:29 PM (GMT)
I imagine it would be handy against brettonians, just in case they managed to get a charge. Other than that you'd really have to know that your opponent is going to be taking a great weapon or summet but even s3 opponents stand a good chance against us anyway lol
The Lone Warrior - July 16, 2009 11:38 PM (GMT)
|QUOTE (SeanyPrawny @ Jul 16 2009, 10:29 PM)|
| but even s3 opponents stand a good chance against us anyway lol |
:sad: yeh, the cons of bein an elf :dry:
the anti santa - July 18, 2009 11:11 PM (GMT)
It's a pretty awful item for Wood Elves really. We are stuck with T3 and have little armour so most armies elite troops can hurt even lords pretty easily.
But i'd agree that it would negate the ST bonus from wardancer weapons as well. Looking at some of the other armies we seem to be stuck with some rather overcosted items now. Sure they are fluffy but the ward saves in particular are really expensive for what they do and the anti-magic stuff is rather lacking too.
Glim - July 18, 2009 11:46 PM (GMT)
I agree anti santa. I don't get all the restrictions on our ward saves. Since deamons got a normal ward save, they will probably will give it to us too in our new book.
But the Locus is a good item in combination with the Spirit Sword or the Sword of Striking.
Glim - July 22, 2009 03:03 PM (GMT)
Does the reroll to wound from Blades of Loec also applies to the murder of spites +D6 attacks?
In the description of the murder it says that the model itself gains +D6 attacks so I guess so. Or are they not being dealt by the sword and do the spites themselves attack? It's very confusing.
Hillbilly Carl - July 22, 2009 05:31 PM (GMT)
No, the attacks are not re-rollable. Only the attacks made with the Blades of Loec would be eligible for the re-roll.
The Lone Warrior - July 22, 2009 08:27 PM (GMT)
I concur. Only the model's base attacks would be re-rollable.
Hillbilly Carl - July 22, 2009 09:47 PM (GMT)
Plus the one extra from the wardancer weapons rule :wink:
If the answer had been yes then you could use the same argument to say that all his attacks should be poisoned as well which is obviously wrong.
Glim - July 23, 2009 07:52 PM (GMT)
Thanks guys. So I should see it as Spites doing seperate attacks that are poisoned and the wardancer attacks that get the re-roll.
Wording isn't that clear. Says the model gains +D6 attacks and they didn't clearify that it were Spite attacks and not the model attacks.
The Lone Warrior - July 23, 2009 09:47 PM (GMT)
|QUOTE (Glim @ Jul 23 2009, 07:52 PM)|
| Wording isn't that clear. Says the model gains +D6 attacks and they didn't clearify that it were Spite attacks and not the model attacks. |
A MURDER OF SPITES sorta gives that one away (lol)
Geep - July 24, 2009 01:03 AM (GMT)
I have seen arguments about this before- Going by Rules as Written, the extra attacks would be part of the model's profile and so gain all of their special rules and abilities. This is clearly not Rules as Intended though, so wear steel toed boots and study male anatomy- if anyone tries to pull the 'RaW' version on you, you'll be well prepared.
Glim - July 29, 2009 12:59 PM (GMT)
RAW and RAI, good to know.
But where do you draw the line?
+D6 attacks S2 poisoned is totally not worth the 25 points.
Geep - July 29, 2009 01:09 PM (GMT)
There's a fair few items in the Wood elf list (and most other lists for that matter) not really worth their points. This item is one of them.
I'd say it just does D6 Str 2 poisoned attacks- no bonuses possible. It may give you a lucky break sometimes, but it's not reliable.
Flailing-Axes - July 29, 2009 04:09 PM (GMT)
If we're assuming they don't receive bonuses from the model, can they attack a seperate target to the model? Could wipe out a champioon while the character has a bash at the unit to prevent any attacks back?
3-4 attacks, that means roughly 1/2 chance of getting a poisoned attack through? Then it's down to how high the opponent's armour save is. Usually hitting on 3's as well, so even if you do fail the poison you have 2-3 hits with the potential to wound.
Geep - July 30, 2009 12:49 AM (GMT)
|can they attack a seperate target to the model? Could wipe out a champioon while the character has a bash at the unit to prevent any attacks back?|
Yes- as long as the character isn't in a challenge. It's just like how a character can normally split his attacks (eg. declare 1 on the champion, 2 on regular guys).
I think if I had to price this item i'd put it at around 15 points.
Flailing-Axes - July 30, 2009 07:47 AM (GMT)
Would you declare the target of the attack after rolling the D6?
The Lone Warrior - July 30, 2009 09:35 AM (GMT)
The reason its 25pts is because the attacks are also magical, not just poisoned.
Geep - July 30, 2009 11:38 PM (GMT)
|Would you declare the target of the attack after rolling the D6?|
Good question- I'd say you'd have to declare the target first, but it could be argued well either way.
|The reason its 25pts is because the attacks are also magical, not just poisoned.|
Probably true, but magical attacks don't mean much anymore (except against forest spirits and ethereal creatures). Not worth 10 points. I still see this item as overcosted (Although having all spites at 25 or 50 pts makes them easy to interchange).