Title: BSB with bow
Glim - June 3, 2009 03:21 PM (GMT)
As the Battle Standard Bearer loses his longbow due to is standardbeariness, he is unable to shoot the Hail of Doom Arrow, right?
If that is so, the FAQ woodelves says:
Q: is it legal to equip a Woodelf Battle Standard Bearer with a magic bow even if it cannot have a normal one?
A: Yes, he can use a magic bow, as he can be given magic weapons.
So here is my question, do you need a bow to fire tHoDA? And if you give Asyendi`s Bane (10pts, magic longbow) are you then able to fire it?
Just something that caught my attention,
Green greets ~GLIM~
SeanyPrawny - June 3, 2009 04:49 PM (GMT)
Need a bow to fire it and yes you could give it asyendi's bane to fire it however you don't get the re-roll for it. (which is prolly for the best since you're prolly gonna end up killing yourself lol)
Geep - June 4, 2009 02:03 AM (GMT)
I hadn't noticed that in the FAQ... that's odd. It goes against the rule of 'you can't take a magic version of something you can't take a mundane version of' for weapons.
I agree with what SeanyPrawny says.
If you take just the HoD arrow you can't fire it.
If you take the arrow and a magic bow you can fire it.
Aben Zin - June 8, 2009 11:11 PM (GMT)
I'd go with the "That's stupid, what's he gonna draw the bow with, his teeth?" answer personally.
Glim - June 12, 2009 10:30 PM (GMT)
LOL, I think it's funny how you mess with the rules by finding loopholes like this one. I'll try to find some more like this one.
The FAQs are very good for us, like the extra attacks for the horses of the Wildriders, the stand and shoot of the Treeman and the no 18" restriction on the damage part of Treesinging.
I use em all with great pleasure. Used to play with without.
@ Aben zin, guess woodies have more theeth than expected.
The Lone Warrior - July 6, 2009 09:54 PM (GMT)
Anyone think maybe the Standard Bearer might not just stick the butt of the Standard in the ground and then fire his bow? Duh!
You know av just bin looking in all 7 Warhammer Armies books I own and under the BSB bit it merely says the BSB cant choose any EXTRA mundane weapons. If am reading that right that would mean he wouldn't lose his longbow in the first place as he came with it.
Glim - July 7, 2009 06:32 PM (GMT)
|the Battle Standard Bearer loses his longbow due to is standardbeariness|
as stated on page 53 of the Wood Elves book.
The Lone Warrior - July 7, 2009 07:14 PM (GMT)
So thanks to GW we now have an wood elf without a bow? Great :dry: doesnt make sense why he'd lose his longbow, as av sed before, so unrealistic :dry:
Hillbilly Carl - July 7, 2009 07:35 PM (GMT)
Well, not really. You have lots of wood elves without bows (wild riders, eternal guard, wardancers). Granted of the characters only wardancer characters lose their bows but even still, it makes sense that the battle standard bearer would not have one (him being busy holding the stick and all). As was said above, you can still give him a magical bow if you want.
Flailing-Axes - July 7, 2009 09:21 PM (GMT)
I was under the impression there wasn't any rule rstricting the use of a magic weapon if you can't wield the mundane version. I recall if only being magical armour that was prohibited if the wearer couldn't use a mundane version.
Now, if there was a sprite armour things would get intesresting :huh:
the anti santa - July 18, 2009 11:15 PM (GMT)
Wasn't the restrictions for magic weapons that needed 2 hands for BSB's too?
That FAQ makes no sense at all allowing magic bows :blink:
Why not change the HOD and allow it to be used to stab people in the face Legolas style 2D6 times :D
SeanyPrawny - July 19, 2009 12:01 AM (GMT)
3D6 and that would be epic lol, right I have...*rolls dice* oo 18 attacks this turn wow thats nice...