|· Rules and Regulations · Portal||Help Search Members Calendar|
|Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )||Resend Validation Email|
|Welcome to Community for Spikes & Baron Duel Monsters Comet. We hope you enjoy your visit.|
You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.
Join our community!
If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:
Posted: Oct 23 2009, 03:30 PM
Group: Tyrant of the Comet
Member No.: 2
Joined: 13-November 05
Ｔｈｅ ｔｙｒａｎｔ ＮＥＰＴＵＮＥ
This card cannot be special summoned. This card can be Advance Summon by release of 1 monster. Increase the attack and defense strength of this card by total of original attack and defense strength of the monster(s) released to Advance Summon this card. When this card is successfully Advance Summon, choose an effect monster released from your Graveyard, and treat this card as same name card as that monster and gains its effect.
First, I would like to introduced the site's newest admin - Neptune. Wait, forgot that Neptune is a planet not a comet, thus doesn't exactly fit the title "tyrant of the Comet".
Anyway, after The splendid VENUS, The big SATURN, and E-Hero The Earth, we've our 4th Planet card. With that said, when will we see Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, and Uranus?
At a first glance, Neptune is a big lizard, having a scary head, and a even more scary scythe, waiting to kill anyone stands in his path.
How would I judge the art? I personally don't like it. It fits the description of "tyrant", and the description of "Neptune" (The Sea King), but the thing just look ugly, hideous, and well, weird. Maybe it's the color, maybe it's a lizard, I've no clue. But is this those super nice art that are so common? Not at all.
Rating - 2.8/10
10-star, well, means more than likely you'll not be able to used this thing as a Synchro material. Other than that, well, 2-trib monster at the normal case, with its effect allowing you to get this thing out with 1-trib.
Water/Reptile, well, Water = Atlantis reduced this card's level by 1, and you can [Salvage] this card, but other than that...Reptile = Well, Damage = Reptile, wait, you can't special summon this card...well, you can semi-search this card using [Salvage] + [Snake Rain], and this card would get RFG for [Ananta], other than that? Being Reptile is not the best thing in the world...
0/0, well, this card gains attack/defense equal to the monster you released. Other than that, [Book of Moon] and this card is toasted.
Rating - 6.8/10
This card's effect can be basically divided into 3 parts. First part, well, you can't special summon this card, which means, no Damage = Reptile and like. However, to make this card possible to summon, you can release only 1 monster to Advance Summon this card. The 2 obvious choice to released are [Barbaros] or [Gunner Dragon], but as always, you can simply released any monster without worrying too much.
2nd part, well, this card gains ATK/DEF equal to the ATK/DEF of the monster(s) you released. If you released a nothing special 4-star to get this card out, tough luck, this card will get destroy in no time. As I already stated, [Barbaros] or [Gunner Dragon] would be top choice, since this card automatically becomes 3000 or 2800 ATK, respectively. Being original ATK/DEF does have a drawback - no releasing a super huge [Ananta] / [Venominaga] and gains all of its ATK (In the case of [Venominaga], well, you can simply choose it after this card hits the field to gain its effect, but more on that later) in a Reptile deck. On the contrary, if your monster got [Shrink], [Gale], etc. it won't hurt as much.
Now, why would you even bother with this card in the first place? Last part of the effect basically means you can choose one of the monster you released to Adv. Summon this card and gain its effect and name. Now, what's exactly the point? Well, releasing a [LnDD] means you get 5 more "free" negation, releasing a [Dark End Dragon] means you get 5 more "free" destruction, but other than that, for the most part, this effect is nothing more than "Well, I get rid of an effect monster, probably 2, make it a bigger version of that monster (In the case of 2-trib, that is), while, let say I pick a [DAD], don't have to fear something like [Dark Absorbing Mirror]. Other than that, does it worth even getting this card out for the most part? No...although there's always gaining the effect of [Fortune Lady] and make this card 2000/3000/4000 ATK while still retaining their sometimes good effect.
And since this card and [Phantom of Chaos] have some similarility, just a comparison:
1. Phantom no-trib v. this card 1 or 2-trib
2. Phantom goes back to 0 at end of turn while this card's ATK/DEF remains the same
3. Phantom is much more flexible, as you can make it become a new thing each turn, but for the most part, 1 turn only, while this card gets the effect permanently, but can only choose from the monster you released for this card's Adv. Summon
4. Phantom deals no damage, this card is normal damage
5. Phantom only gains ATK, which means no [LnDD] / [Dark End Dragon], this card gains both ATK and DEF but is still dead meat when [Book of Moon] hits this card
In the end, if anything is wrong with the last effect, it's being somewhat inflexible - you don't exactly get to choose from many cards.
Rating - 7.8/10
Overall - 7.2/10 - Well, overall, the card is not exactly weak or anything, it's all about "why bother with all those releasing monster and stuff when now opponent can used a single [Earth Crush] or [Bottomless Pit Trap] to get rid of this card". Yes, sometimes, you can make this card really huge, while still being about abused one of the monster's effect, but at other time, I just don't see why you would bother releasing monster to get this card out, considering that this card is a possible dead draw. In conclusion, I just don't see anything special about this card to worth trying to build a deck to break it, as there are just not many way to break this card.
|a-hole w/ 9000atk||
Posted: Oct 23 2009, 05:02 PM
A work in progress.......and progressing rather slowly.......
Group: Citizen of the Comet
Member No.: 973
Joined: 3-July 06
Actually, ya' don't have to RFG the sacked monster to gain the effect - you just have to select it in the Grave. All the nicer.
I know it's a bit easy to mistake with Phantom's effect.
Posted: Oct 23 2009, 06:23 PM
Group: Tyrant of the Comet
Member No.: 2
Joined: 13-November 05
a-hole: Yeah, I did make a mistake there...(I was thinking about Phantom of Chaos...)
Doesn't make a whole deal of difference in the score, though.